Dancers and Castaways

 

Dancers and Castaways is from my new series Bella Vista on view in Allegro Gallery from September 9 to October 9, 2015

Bella Vista Is a neighborhood located in Panama, Republic of Panama where I live. This project is rooted in my personal history with the neighborhood and the disappearance of its original architecture in favor of new and more modern construction. We always have a place that binds us, and Bella Vista is a bond that connects me to the past. My grandfather and my father’s tile factory was located in that neighborhood, growing up I spent a lot of time there. It was in that factory that most of the tiles of the Bella Vista houses were made. The buildings that remain are still filled with the stories of my grandparents, my father and my mother. The photos in this series explore the feeling of nostalgia, of what is like to loose part of my history and identity. I invite the viewer to explore the interiors of these wonderful homes that were part of the Panama we have left behind, and with it its history.

Leave a Reply

